Watch Now: National Nutrition Month

Celebrate a world of flavors and discover lessons from the Blue Zones! 

Five distinct locations around the world share a high concentration of centenarians- those who live to be at least 100 years old despite vastly differing social customs, cultural traditions, and dietary patterns. National Geographic and the National Institute on Aging investigated the five locations, now known as the blue zones, for insights. Blue zones include:

  • Loma Linda, CA, USA 
  • Nicoya, Costa Rica 
  • Sardinia, Italy
  • Ikaria, Greece 
  • Okinawa, Japan 

Research has uncovered unique characteristics and commonalities of the lifestyles in blue zone regions.

Over time, dietary patterns have shifted with the industrialization of food production and agriculture. Despite the global shift towards accessible, processed food beginning in the 1960s, many blue zone cultures have stuck with traditional agriculture or shepherding that directly influences their dietary pattern. Blue zones inhabitants are known to live longer, have an increased quality of life, and experience lower rates of chronic disease.


Share this post
You may also like
Get CRITICAL employee benefits information delivered right to your inbox!
Featured Post
Recent posts